Eternal love does exist… I have proofs!

Tonight, on my way home, I met a couple (they probably were 85-90 years old), they were walking very slowly, arm in arm, she occasionally lean her head on his shoulder, he was carrying shopping bags for her..

couple

 

I thought they were the sweetest thing I saw in a lot of time and I felt so happy and comforted by seeing them… I was so touched… then they turned the corner and I just continued straight just on my way, still thinking about those two people who exuded love!

Maybe, I thought, it won’t be so rude to tell them how I saw them, how lucky they are, and I said to myself: why not?!?!
So I followed and stopped them and… I told them! I was afraid they could report me to police, instead they gave me a sweet smile both.. and they were moved to tears when I told them so, then we spent some time talking… and they told me in a year they will make 70 years of marriage!!!

They certainly are from a different time, a time where relationship were different, where committment was still a value, nowadays I see this very difficult to find, but there’s still hope and by the way, to me also knowing that somewhere exist eternal and sincere love is enough to be happy, because it means that this thing I believe in, does exist and is not impossible, is just hard to find, and maybe is because is so hard to find that is so special…

“Every place is a goldmine. You have only to give yourself time, sit in a teahouse watching the passers-by, stand in a corner of the market, go for a haircut. You pick up a thread – a word, a meeting, a friend of a friend of someone you have just met – and soon the most insipid, most insignificant place becomes a mirror of the world, a window on life, a theatre of humanity.” ― quote from my favourite book and author: Tiziano Terzani “A Fortune-Teller Told Me: Earthbound Travels in the Far East.

I connect this sentence to what just happened because maybe, what Terzani meant, wasn’t necessarily linked to a trip somewhere far away.. This sentence reminds me that sometimes, we are so busy being busy, that we end up missing life around us…
This can refer also to a trip where you don’t have to leave, but you just put yourself in discussion and open up to the world and to people, living with human times and really listen and really watch, observe the others.. raise your hand if you do feel deep inside, that you are not giving the necessary attention even to your close one’s… my hand is straight up!!!

Btw, I’m glad I didn’t continue on my way!

One thought on “Eternal love does exist… I have proofs!

Feel free to share your thoughts on this post:

