Daily Prompt: Elevator

Can’t resist to reply to this daily prompt today, I’ve decided to test myself in writing, so this will be an appropriate “challenge”:

Fiction writers: You’re stuck in an elevator with an intriguing stranger. Write this scene.

I’m not a writer, at all, but I love to write, so I’ll challenge myself with this one!

 

Elevator scene

Modern elevator, as the rest of the building, steel, neon light, sterile space…

Lights go out, for a moment, seems a bit longer, but is just a moment…

Intermittence lightings, just for a while more, a bit…

Here has come back the neon light, aseptic, cold, impersonal…

I look better.. I focus… there’s someone… I was quite sure there was no one before, I think… “as always I’m too distracted to even notice people around me”… I disagree with myself for this, even for this!

She is leaning against the wall of the elevator, behind me, I looked at her in passing, but I immediately divert the gaze, there was something which embarrassed me when I briefly look at her, something that made ​​me feel uncomfortable… Her laconic smile, her magnetic gaze… I’m not sure, but there was something strange… in her face, I would like to look again, but I do not have the courage… something change, I can feel her eyes on my back, the tension suddenly grows, I feel electricity, I feel even more uncomfortable, I cannot stand still… I shift my weight from one leg to the other and… inexplicably, the elevator stops! It pull up… abruptly… I bounce!

Breathe gently.. if it stopped, it doesn’t mean it will stay still forever” a wry smile accompanies her words… there is something, even in his voice that intrigues me, it destabilizes me, even scares me a bit… now I can take a longer look… she is calm, relaxed, as nothing could possibly ever scares her, nothing… She has a beautiful face, oval, long, soft curly hair longer than the shoulders, but of an indeterminate color, browns, her face is not of an ordinary beauty, is even marked, but it is a fascinating one, the classic face of the person from whom you expect stories of an amazing life…

Ok, I’m starring, I need to say something… “How can you be so relaxed?” I ask her almost angry.
She smiles at me, like a mother with a baby… “Why do I have to panic, there is nothing I can do to change this situation, if we will panic, we only consume before the air.” Ok now I feel panic… “I suffer from claustrophobia” I feel obliged to let her know… “I know, that’s why I told you to breathe gently before!” and she smiles again with the typical expression of an adult replying something obvious to a child.

I know“… how could she possibly know something from me? This is the first time ever I see her, maybe she was in the elevator too someday I was talking about this with someone and I didn’t notice her… wait I’ve never talk about this with anyone in this building… ok, don’t try always to dig and understand everything, she must have heard it somewhere!

I’ve never, is just I know you” her voice now is different, more profound, but softer,  I’m trying to give a sense to these words, but mostly to the fact that she just has replied to one of my thoughts… “how” “why” “what” “it’s impossible!” my thoughts are spinning round, running into every direction, no roads are credible, but they just keep trying and spinning round… “there are things that happen, whether you believe it or not” her second reply…

Intermittence lightings, just for a while more, a bit…

Lights go out, for a moment, seems a bit longer, but is just a moment…

Here has come back the neon light, aseptic, cold, impersonal…

She’s gone…

I look better.. I focus… there’s no one…

I was quite sure there was someone before… a girl… she could read my thoughts… she told me she knew me… 

I think… “as always I’m so stressed out to even have hallucinations and make up weird stories”… I disagree with myself for this, even for this!

Modern elevator, as the rest of the building, steel, neon light, sterile space…

 

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Elevator

Feel free to share your thoughts on this post:

